Cabbage

Cabbage (2)

Not everything in the garden is perfect.  I was unsuccessful at growing broccoli this year as the mama rabbit kept eating the plants to the ground.   Then Niza kitty decided to play monkey see, monkey do.  After watching me sow seeds, she would come back and dig up the ground.  But this was not enough…she decided to befriend an armadillo who visits us every night and digs up the yard also.  He’s so comfortable in our yard he has built not 1 but 2 homes in the grove right next to our fence.

It’s a miracle this cabbage plant has survived and if it continues to do well at this rate I’ll be able to harvest it for my annual St Patrick boiled dinner.  Warning: If you do grow cabbage, you will never buy it again at the store.  The difference in taste is that big.

Cabbage (1)

3 Comments to “Cabbage”

  1. I’m trying to grow cabbage right now, but something (slugs?) is having a field day with it. Did you grow this from seed?

    • Yes I did. I usually purchase my seeds at johhnyseeds.com They were nice enough to donate seeds to the community farm where my daughter volunteers. It says a lot about where their values are. I pay them back by being a loyal customer.

      Slugs love cabbage. When I lived up north I used to leave tuna or cat food cans filled with beer in the garden. They’re attracted to it and end up drowning. For some reason the slugs in the south still think prohibition is still in effect and won’t go near the beer. I currently use organic slug bait to keep them under control. Watering the garden in the morning instead of the evening also helps. The wet soil and cool night temperatures make it easy for them to move around. If I had ducks or chickens I’d let them loose in the garden. They love eating slugs.

      • We have our chickens loose in the yard and they do eat quite a few of the slugs, but even they can’t keep up! I’ve done the beer thing, but we’re in Portland and it rains so often (we usually don’t have to water until June) that it washes out all the beer. I’ve resorted to iron phosphate pellets, but they’re so expensive. I guess this explains why I never see cabbage in my neighbors’ garden plots.

Leave a Reply

