Craft Hope Project 8 – Day 12

Craft Hope Day 12It’s amazing how things work out in life.  I learned to crochet while I was pregnant with my daughter back in 1988.  The wife of a service member was nice enough to teach me while I was living in Germany.  I took many notes knowing that someday we would both be relocated to different parts of the world. I kept these notes all these years, including the stitches used for some of these washcloths.  Little did I know I would be using them for a very good cause.  Everything happens for a reason.

I’m glad I’ll have these pictures of the different stitches for future reference.  This one is called Contrary stitch.  You will need a chain in a multiple of 2 + 3 chains.  Work a single crochet, chain, single crochet in 3rd chain from the hook. * Skip 1 chain. Single crochet, chain 1, single crochet in next chain.  Continue to repeat from *.  End with a single crochet in the last chain, chain 2 and turn.  Single crochet, chain 1, single crochet under each chain 1 in 1st row.  End with single crochet in turning chain, chain 2, turn.  Continue until desired size is reached.

Leave a Reply

