Craft Hope Project 8 – Gulf Coast Oil Spill

Craft Hope Day 1I don’t know about you, but I feel terribly hopeless when I watch the news and see all the damage the oil spill is causing. Not everybody feels that way. Some choose to empower themselves, roll up their sleeves and get to work. Craft Hope listed Project #8 yesterday. The’re collecting hand towels and wash cloths to give to The Institue of Marine Mammal Studies to help clean the oil off of dolphins, sea turtles, etc.

I read the post this morning while sipping coffee and a little voice said to me: “If you make just one wash cloth a day, you will have 30 of them by the deadline.” My Jiminy Cricket is right. I can complete a wash cloth while I watch the news every day. I can challenge myself to be a productive part of the solution and choose not to fret over the problem.

It’s time to bust the cotton stash! I will be posting links to the crochet patterns I use and I’m open to suggestions for crochet patterns. If you have one you would like to share let me know. Today’s pattern is Lion Brand Yarn Pattern #691. Enter the pattern number in the search box. You have to become a member, but the pattern is free.

The call for wash cloths is not limited to crochet. If you knit or sew, you can help. I would love it if others can join the cause. If you only make one washcloth, it’s a lot better than not doing anything at all.

Leave a Reply

