Mandalas

MandalaCarl Young called mandalas “representation of the unconscious self”. Not having to think while I paint makes them an attractive project for me to do when I feel I’m just not inspired to paint anything new. I usually pick 3-4 attractive colors for the whole project. I pick a color and paint the first shape that comes to my mind, repeating the shape until I fill the circle working from the center outwards. I switch colors and/or shapes only when the thought to change comes to my mind. Nothing is planned or sketched ahead of time. I paint as I go.  The beautiful patterns are art pieces by themselves. I suggest keeping a journal of them. They produce great ideas that can be used for all sorts of craft projects. Mandalas are the lovely reflections of our inner muse.

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

